Evercade EXP Features 21 TATE Mode Games at Launch

Written by Sean Cleaver

Tags arcade, EVERCADE, exp, tate, vertical

The Evercade EXP’s new TATE mode allowers gamers to play vertically orientated arcade games the way they were meant to be played.

The word TATE is Japanese (pronounced tah-tay) and literally translates to “Vertical”. With just the touch of one button underneath the console, you can turn the console 90 degrees and use the new dedicated buttons to play arcade shooters, platformers, and more, without losing any of the experience on screen. No more small windows or stretched ratios!

The Evercade arcade library of games has grown rapidly over the last year and there’s more to come! But there are already games that will benefit from TATE mode in Evercade’s back catalogue. Twenty-one, in fact! Six of the games are available built-in to the Evercade EXP with the included Capcom Collection of games!

So here’s the list of games that will be best played in TATE Mode at launch and what collection you’ll find them on!


Technos Arcade 1: Battle Lane Vol 5, Mania Challenge, Minky Monkey, Mysterious Stones

Data East Arcade 1: Burger Time, Darwin 4078, Lock ‘n’ Chase

Atari Arcade 1: Centipede, Millipede, Super Breakout

Jaleco Arcade 1: Cybattler

Toaplan Arcade 1: Alcon (Slap Fight), Flying Shark, Tiger-Heli, Truxton

Capcom Collection (Built-In to Evercade EXP): 1942, 1943, Commando, Legendary Wings, Mercs, Vulgus


All Evercade cartridges are available now from all good Evercade retailers for the RRP of £17.99|$19.99|€19.99. Toaplan Arcade 1 is currently available to pre-order, and the Capcom Collection is included built-in to every Evercade EXP console.

You’ll know the Evercade EXP is in TATE mode with the “TATE” icon that will be displayed in the top left corner of the screen, next to the battery level.


With over 260 games available

View all cartridges available >